Yeah Yeah Yeahs release details for “raw and stripped-down” new album

Last week Yeah Yeah Yeahs drummer Brian Chase ominously told FL to “watch out or [the new album] might sting your bum”. Now that cryptic warning makes sense: the band has revealed that the title of their new record is Mosquito.

The new record was produced by Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio and Nick Launay who also helmed their It’s Blitz!, while LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy also helped out producing the track ‘Nitrous Batcave’ which features a guest verse from oddball rap genius Dr. Octagon (aka Kool Keith). The follow-up to the band’s 2009 album It’s Blitz!, will be released on April 16.

Chase played his cards very close to his chest when FL spoke to him, but Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman Karen O has now revealed that the “extremely lo-fi” record features some of the most tongue-and-cheek stuff the band has ever recorded. “It was tough; there were dark times,” she told Pitchfork. “So whenever we’d go into our studio space, we would just try and play music that was as uplifting and cheerful. The music is more of a prescription for what we were feeling. It was like a pep talk.” Karen O says that the album is a counterpoint to her recent “psycho-opera” Stop the Virgens: “We had a shitty drum machine, a shitty sampled keyboard, tons of delay on the vocals … just as raw and stripped-down as possible.”

The band has previewed several new tracks in recent live shows including ‘Despair’, ‘Earth’ and the album’s title track. Karen O says that ‘Mosquito’ is literally about mosquitos: “I’m surprised that there aren’t more songs about them out there. I have a pretty passionate hatred of them.”

Karen O says her new look, which we’ll get to see on the Big Day Out tour later this week, is “kind of moody, kind of glam” and inspired by Elvis in Vegas, Bootsy Collins, James Brown, and Elton John.

The amazing cover art for Mosquito was designed by South Korean filmmaker/animator Beomsik Shimbe Shim.