Tours in brief: JD Samson, Triple Threat, Jason Lytle (Grandaddy)

Le Tigre’s gender bending JD Samson is set to bring her a Brooklyn-based band and art/performance collective Men to Australia for Perth Festival and a run of sideshows next February. As a band that has emerged from the Feminist/Art/Punk scene in Brooklyn, they have always been focused on remaining a “DIY” project and are bringing this ethos Down Under to spread the revolution and play some damn fine music.

Men tour:

Friday 24th February – Powerhouse, Brisbane

Saturday 25th February – Perth Festival, Perth

Wednesday 29th February – Brisbane Hotel, Hobart

Thursday 1st March – Phoenix Public House, Melbourne

Saturday 3rd March – Mardigrasland Party, Sydney

Sunday 4th March – Adelaide Festival, Adelaide

Former Grandadd frontman Jason Lytle will return to Australia this February for the first time since his band’s only ever tour Down Under in 2004. Technically headed our way just to fish and skateboard, Lytle has agreed to put on a small handful of solo shows to treat those long suffering Grandaddy fans to some of the band’s classics and some of his own material as well.

Jason Lytle (Grandaddy) tour:

Saturday 11th February – The Vanguard, Sydney

Sunday 12th February – The Vanguard, Sydney

Friday 17th February – Gallery Of Modern Art, Brisbane

Wednesday 22nd February – The Toff, Melbourne

Amidst all the Laneway/BDO/Soundwave action next February, three of Australia’s most exciting new bands will be heading out on the road for a ‘Triple Threat’ tour. Millions, Nantes and Northeast Party House will each represent their home towns of Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne on what is sure to be one hell of a party tour.

Nantes, Millions and Northeast Party House tour:

Friday 17th February – East Brunswick Club, Melbourne

Saturday 18th February – Jive, Adelaide

Thursday 24th February – O Party, Wollongong

Friday 24th February – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Saturday 25th February – Transit Bar, Canberra

Friday 2nd March – Elsewhere, Gold Coast

Saturday 3rd March – Woodland, Brisbane