Music

Tours in brief: Even, The Fauves, Rubens, Sures, Jordie Lane

A slew of solid Australian acts, ranging from veterans to up-and-comers, will be hitting the road over the next few months – here’s just a taste of what to expect.

Local legends Even and The Fauves are widely regarded as two of the most underrated acts in the annals of Australian rock history. Although they’ll certainly be playing the hits that they’re best known for, the bands are insisting that “a historical tour this ain’t,” as they’ll both have new records to spruik. Even’s new record is entitled In Another Time, their first since 2008’s self-titled release; while The Fauves have just dropped German Engines – a sequel of sorts to last year’s Japanese Engines. The tour takes in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and three cities in WA – so no complaining from our friends in the west, y’hear?

Saturday 16 June – Annandale Hotel, Sydney

Friday 29 June – Regal Ballroom, Melbourne

Saturday 7 July – The Zoo, Brisbane

Thursday 9 August – Prince Of Wales, Perth

Friday 10 August – Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Saturday 11 August – Mojo’s, Fremantle

Sunday 12 August – Indi Bar, Scarborough


Currently on tour in support of Lanie Lane on her extensive national tour, The Rubens [pictured] have just announced a coupe of their own headlining dates this July in the lead-up to their appearance at Splendour in the Grass. The Melbourne band are set to release a new single, Don’t Ever Want to Be Found, to coincide with the tour dates. The single is lifted from the band’s debut album, which is set for release on Ivy League this September. Joining the Rubens at their Sydney and Melbourne shows will be Melbourne kids Them Swoops.

Thursday 12 July – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Thursday 19 July – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Saturday 21 July – Spin Off Festival, Adelaide

Sunday 29 July – Splendour in the Grass, Byron Bay


Fresh from supporting Wavves at their headlining shows, young bucks Sures will head out for a small East Coast tour starting in late June. The band have had a dream run this past year, having opened for Best Coast and Bleeding Knees Club and releasing their debut EP, Stars. Once these shows are over, they will head into the studio to record their debut album, to be released via Ivy League. They will be joined by Woe & Flutter in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

Thursday 28 June – Goodgod Small Club, Sydney

Friday 29 June – Rocket Bar, Adelaide

Thursday 5 July – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne

Thursday 12 July – Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane

Friday 13 July – Upstairs at the Clock, Gold Coast


Lastly, hirsute troubadour Jordie Lane will be making a quick jaunt down the east coast of Australia, playing five shows in five days in solo acoustic mode. Lane has just returned from extensive touring of the United States, which also saw him lay down some new material with Grammy-winning producer Tom Biller. Not long after these dates, Lane will then go to Melbourne to star as Gram Parsons in the stage production Grievous Angel: The Legend of Gram Parsons at the Athanaeum Theatre.

Wednesday June 27 – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane

Thursday June 28 – 5 Church Street, Bellingen

Friday June 29 – Royal Exchange, Newcastle

Saturday June 30 – Camelot Lounge, Sydney

Sunday July 1 -The Wheatsheaf, Adelaide