Tours in brief: Emmylou Harris, The Bamboos, Lil’ Band O’ Gold

The queen of country Emmylou Harris will be back in Australia this November to prove her crown is still well intact and show off tunes from her 26th studio album Hard Bargain. Speaking with FasterLouder last year about her time spent with Gram Parsons, who inspired a number of songs on the new record, she recalled: “I could never have imagined meeting someone like Gram and that opportunity and him being the person who put me in a place and had me singing in a way that opened up my voice and the vision I had of music. He really gave me a purpose.”

Emmylou Harris tour dates:

Tuesday 6th November- Perth Concert Hall, Perth

Thursday 8th November – Thebarton Theatrem, Adelaide

Saturday 10th November – Palais Theatre, Melbourne

Monday 12th November – Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra

Thursday 15th November – State Theatre, Sydney

Friday 16th November – Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Brisbane

Swamp pop Supergroup Lil’ Band O’Gold will return to Australia this June for five stomping shows. Since their last visit in 2010 the group has recorded a new album which features cover versions of the band’s favourite Fats Domino songs and guest vocals from Robert Plant, Lucinda Williams and even Jimmy Barnes and Tim Rogers. Their current lineup of phenomenal players includes; singer and drummer Warren Storm, accordion champion Steve Riley, Dickie Landry on saxophone, West Australia’s very own Lucky Oceans on pedal steel, David Egan on piano, Vocalist and guitarist CC Adcock , Pat Breaux and Philippe Billeaudeaux on bass.

Lil’ Band O’Gold tour dates:

Saturday 23rd June – The Factory Theatre, Sydney

Sunday 24th June- The Basement, Sydney

Wednesday 27th June – Regal Ballroom, Melbourne

Thursday 28th June – Regal Ballroom, Melbourne

Friday 29th June – The Gershwin Room, Melbourne

The Bamboos are back with their new album _ Medicine Man_ and while we have already had a taste of what’s to come from the lead single and Tim Roger’s collaboration _ I Got Burned_ they are hitting the road to show off all its tunes this June. With guests on the album Daniel Merriweather, Kylie Auldist and Aloe Blacc it will no doubt be a treat to see what they offer up at their live shows.

The Bamboos tour dates:

Saturday 16th June – Melbourne, The Corner

Friday 22nd June – Sydney, The Metro

Thursday 28th June – Byron Bay, The Great Northern

Friday 29th June – Sunshine Coast, Coolum Civic Centre

Saturday 30th June – The HiFi, Brisbane