Tours in Brief: Die! Die! Die!, The Laurels, King Cannons, Angus Stone

Die! Die! Die! founding members Andrew Wilson and Michael Prain have been joined by bassist Michael Logie from The Mint Chicks to bring us their new album Harmony, the follow up to one of the best albums of 2010 Form.

According to the advance word (aka the press release) the new record Harmony “brings together the raw energy and emotion from their live shows, encapsulating savant pop elements with their DIY punk philosophy” and we’ll be able to judge for ourselves when the band hits Australia for a tour in August.

When we saw them back in 2010 FL’s reviewer in Sydney declared that “Die! Die! Die!’s art noise and shoegaze terror pop… showed how great intense music can be when played with passion, volume and creativity and reaffirmed how blissfully exciting live music can be.”

Die! Die! Die! Tour:

Wednesday 22nd August – The Great Northern, Newcastle

Thursday 23rd August- The Standard, Sydney

Friday 24th August – Yours & Owls, Wollongong

Saturday 25th August – Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne

Thursday 30th August – Oh Hello, Brisbane

Friday 31st August – Elsewhere, Gold Coast

Saturday 1st September – The Spotted Cow, Toowoomba

Sydney four-piece The Laurels will celebrate the release of their debut album Plains by loading up the Tarago and hitting the road this August and September. You may have seen the band supporting Band of Skulls, Pond, The Black Angels, Wooden Shjips, Swervedriver, Dead Meadow, Low and Tame Impala but this will be The Laurels first headline tour in a year.

Plains is a punchy and auspicious debut offering, which quickly establishes the band’s dark shoegaze nuances and contagious alt-rock atmosphere. In comparison to the group’s 2011 EP Mesozoic, Plains is clearly focused on intricacy, tone, balance, structure and aesthetic.” – FL review.

The Laurels tour:

Saturday 11th August – The Tote, Melbourne

Friday 17th August – Beetle Bar, Brisbane

Saturday 25th August – Mojos, Perth

Saturday 1st September – The Annandale, Sydney

King Cannons have just returned home from sell out shows on their album launch tour across the East Coast and they’re already itching to get back on the road to play another run of shows.

This time out they’re bringing the similarly anthemic rockers All The Young all the way over from the UK to play their first Australian shows as the support set at the gigs (from Warrnambool onwards).

We recently spoke to King Cannons’ colourful frontman Luke Yeoward about the debut album, their influences and heroes as part of the FL Debut Album Series.

King Cannons tour:

Friday 24th August – Sol Bar, Maroochydore

Saturday 25th August – Gympie Muster Music Festival

Wednesday 29th August – The Loft, Warrnambool

Thursday 30th August – Jive Bar, Adelaide

Friday 31st August – The Bended Elbow, Geelong

Saturday 1st September – The Corner, Melbourne

Wednesday 5th September – The Patch, Wollongong

Thursday 6th September – Transit Bar, Canberra

Friday 7th September – The Annandale, Sydney

Saturday 8th September – Hotel Great Northern, Newcastle

Wednesday 12th September – Big Sound, Brisbane

Thursday 13th September – Big Sound, Brisbane

Friday 14th September – Miami Shark Bar, Gold Coast

Saturday 15th September – The Northern, Byron Bay

Angus Stone will be touring his new solo album Broken Brights in November.

Stone says that “For the people that have listened to Julia and I play for so long, I’m looking forward to handing it over to them so that they can create their own worlds & experiences with the writings. To play live as my own in front of those people, it’s going to be a different trail of gravel and gold, but none the less very exciting.”

He’ll be kicking of the album launch with a pair of dates later this month including his “first official live band performance” at Splendour and then hitting the road in earnest at the beginning of November.

Angus Stone tour:

Saturday 18th July – Barrenjoy High School, North Avalon

Sunday 29th July – Splendour In The Grass

Thursday 1st November – Enmore Theatre, Sydney

Friday 2nd November – Level One Newcastle Leagues, Newcastle

Saturday 3rd November – Waves, Wollongong

Wednesday 7th November – Great Northern, Byron Bay

Friday 9th November – The Hi Fi, Brisbane

Saturday 10th November – Coolangatta Hotel, Gold Coast

Sunday 11th November – Lake Kawana Community Centre, Sunshine Coast

Saturday 17th November – TBA, Perth

Wednesday 21st November – Palace Theatre, Melbourne

Friday 23rd November – Ferntree Gully Hotel, Ferntree Gully

Saturday 24th November – Pier Live, Frankston

Wednesday 28th November – Governor Hindmarsh Hotel, Adelaide