Tours: Bleeding Knees Club, Eyehategod, The Civil Wars & more

– Bleeding Knees Club are so perfectly bratty a pair of punks it is hard to believe they are real people and not cartoon characters drawn on the back of a pencil case in Maths A between some pictures of skulls and knives. They don’t just look like a delinquent’s dream, they sound like it too. Along with Step-Panther, they are hitting the road to prove it next month.

Bleeding Knees Club tour:

Saturday November 3 – The Zoo, Brisbane

Sunday November 4 – Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane

Friday November 9 – Metropolis, Fremantle

Saturday November 10 – Amplifier, Perth

Thursday November 15 – Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Friday November 16 – Fowlers Live, Adelaide

Saturday November 17 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Sunday November 18 – Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne

Thursday November 22 – Entrance Leagues, Central Coast

Friday November 23 – The Standard, Sydney

Saturday November 24 – Transit Bar, Canberra

Sunday November 25 – The Lair @ The Metro, Sydney

– New Orleans sludge metal band Eyehategod will be visiting Australia for the first time in November, bringing their massive, woozy riffs with them. Their latest single is ‘New Orleans is the New Vietnam’, released in September. Their last album of new material, Confederacy of Ruined Lives, came out in 2000, so it’s been a fair while coming.

Eyehategod tour:

Wednesday November 21 – The Zoo, Brisbane

Thursday November 22 – Manning Bar, Sydney

Friday November 23 – ANU Bar, Canberra

Saturday November 24 – Billboards the Venue, Melbourne

Sunday November 25 – Cherry Festival, Melbourne

– The two members of The Civil Wars met in Nashville, and their music sounds like it. Hollering, boot-stomping country songs, but with a touch of darkness that makes you a little suspicious of what they’re really up to behind those soulful vocals. They’ll be playing all ages at churches and cathedrals across Australian in March.

The Civil Wars tour:

Wednesday March 6 – St Stephen’s Church, Sydney

Friday March 8 – St John’s Cathedral, Brisbane

Tuesday March 12 – St Michael’s Church, Melbourne

Thursday March 14 – Flinders St Church, Adelaide

Friday March 15 – St Joseph’s Subiaco, Perth

– Woods are one of approximately three million bands from Brooklyn you should be listening to now. The folk-rockers with falsetto vocals have been around for seven years and already found the time to release seven albums, so they shouldn’t be short of material when they visit Australia next year.

Woods tour:

Friday January 18 – The National Hotel, Geelong

Saturday January 19 – Sugar Mountain Festival, Melbourne

Wednesday January 23 – The Bakery, Perth

Thursday January 24 – Format, Adelaide

Saturday January 26 – Goodgod Small Club, Sydney

– Highly influential 1960s garage band The Pretty Things have survived line-up changes, court cases and even the 1980s to carry on, still going strong today. Back in the day they also found time to record stock music for low-budget exploitation movies under the name Electric Banana, which is about as perfect as a band name can get. They’ll be travelling around Australia in December.

The Pretty Things tour:

Tuesday December 4 – Corner Hotel, Richmond

Wednesday December 5 – Lizotte’s, Sydney

Friday December 7 – Factory Theatre, Marrickville

Thursday December 13 – Caravan Club, Oakleigh

– The working man’s blues of William Elliott Whitmore come direct from the banks of the Mississippi River. The heartfelt troubadour will be sailing all the way to Australia next year for a tour, as well as two appearances at the Byron Bay Bluesfest.

William Elliott Whitmore tour:

Saturday March 23 – Mojo’s Bar, Fremantle

Sunday March 24 – Enigma Bar, Adelaide

Tuesday March 2 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Wednesday March 27 – Annandale Hotel, Sydney

Thursday March 28 – Byron Bay Bluesfest

Friday March 29 – Byron Bay Bluesfest

– American singer-songwriter Gary Jules is still most famous for his cover of the Tears For Fears song ‘Mad World’, which will be familiar from the soundtrack to Donnie Darko, although since then it’s been used in everything from House to Smallville to Gears of War 3. He’s also got four albums of his own material to play for Australian audiences next year, but I imagine the crowd is going to be pretty happy when he plays ‘Mad World’.

Gary Jules tour:

Thursday January 10 – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane

Friday January 11 – Factory Theatre, Sydney

Saturday January 12 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Sunday January 13 – Trak Lounge Bar, Melbourne

– Peter Murphy is best-known as the frontman of Bauhaus, the art-rockers who accidentally invited the entire goth subculture by recording a little song called ‘Bela Lugosi’s Dead’ in 1979. After Bauhaus broke up in 1983 Murphy began a solo career that’s spanned eight albums so far. He’ll be bringing his angular cheekbones to Australia next year.

Peter Murphy tour:

Wednesday January 9 – The Bakery, Perth

Thursday January 10 – The Gov, Adelaide

Friday January 11 – The Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Saturday January 12 – Factory Theatre, Sydney

Sunday January 13 – Beetle Bar, Brisbane