The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends

The Flaming Lips have teamed up with Nick Cave, Tame Impala, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, Bon Iver, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Erykah Badu, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Yoko Ono, Ke$ha, and Biz Markie for the most amazing/bizarre/trainwreck collaboration of the year.

The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends limited-edition album will be released on Record Store Day on “two high-quality, multi-color 12″ vinyl discs, housed in separate custom art jackets and poly bagged together”. The press release also states that no two discs will look the same and warns fans that this will be on the only pressing.

In addition to the Heady Fwends compilation, the Flaming Lips have also teamed with Mastodon for a split 7″ single featuring their Soft Bulletin track Spoonful Weighs a Ton with a Mastodon’s cover of the song on the flip-side. “Mastodon will also release their split 7””: featuring their cover of Feist’s A Commotion on Record Store Day, with Feist’s cover of Mastodon’s Black Tongue on the flip.

The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends tracklist:

Side 1:

01. 2012 (feat. Ke$ha and Biz Markie)

02. Ashes In The Air (feat. Bon Iver)

03. Helping The Retarded To Know God (feat. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros)

Side 2:

04. Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee (feat. Prefuse 73)

05. Children Of The Moon (feat. Tame Impala)

06. That Ain’t My Trip (feat. Jim James of My Morning Jacket)

07. You, Man? Human? (feat. Nick Cave)

Side 3:

08. “I’m Working At NASA On Acid feat. Lightning Bolt

09. Do It! (feat. Yoko Ono)

10. “Is David Bowie Dying? feat. Neon Indian

h. Side 4:

11. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (feat. Erykah Badu)

12. Thunder Drops (feat. New Fumes)

13. I Don’t Want You To Die (feat. Chris Martin of Coldplay)