Music

The Drones, Laura Marling, Jungle Giants, Luna, Holy Holy announce tours

The Drones

The Drones are celebrating the tenth anniversary of their classic Wait Long By The River And The Bodies Of Your Enemies Float By album by playing the record in full around Australia this August and September. The tour follows on from the band’s one-off date at the Sydney Opera House for Vivid Live last month, which confirmed The Drones reputation as one of the very best live bands this country has produced. The Drones will be joined on tour by Melbourne doom punks Batpiss with Steve Miller Band joining the lineup for the Victorian dates.

REVIEW: THE DRONES, VIVID SYDNEY

Thursday, August 20 – Darwin Festival, Darwin

Saturday, August 22 – Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Thursday, August 27 – Factory Theatre, Sydney

Friday, August 28 – Small Ballroom, Newcastle

Saturday, August 29 – Triffid, Brisbane

Friday, September 4 – The Gov, Adelaide

Saturday, September 5 – The Forum Theatre, Melbourne

Sunday, September 6 – Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Tickets on sale now


Laura Marling

Laura Marling will return to Australia in October to tour her fifth release Short Movieone of the best albums of the year to date – with shows in Perth, Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane. There’s no Melbourne date on the schedule yet, but the promoters have assured fans that it will be announced soon so don’t be surprised if Marling appears on the lineup for this year’s Melbourne Festival.

“LAURA MARLING: “SOMETIMES I FEEL THAT SWEARING REALLY HITS THE SPOT””:http://www.fasterlouder.com.au/features/42219/Laura-Marling-Sometimes-I-feel-that-swearing-really-hits-the-spot#MiRAYlH5Y25kLyCc.99

Friday, October 16 – Astor Theatre, Perth

Saturday, October 17 – The Gov, Adelaide

Tuesday, October 20 – Enmore Theatre, Sydney

Wednesday, October 21 – The Tivoli, Brisbane

Tickets on sale now


The Jungle Giants

The followup to The Jungle Giants 2013 debut Learn To Exist is set to drop on Friday, August 7. The Brisbane crew will launch the new record Speakerzoid, which is named after a misheard Sonic Youth lyric, with an extensive national tour that includes several underage matinee gigs. The Jungle Giants will be joined on the road by their mates Art of Sleeping and Hockey Dad.

Friday, September 4 – Metropolis, Fremantle (18+)

Saturday, September 5 – Prince Of Wales, Bunbury (18+)

Sunday, September 6 – HQ, Leederville (U18 Matinee)

Friday, September 11 – Karova Lounge, Ballarat (18+)

Saturday, September 12 – Corner Hotel, Mebourne (U18s Matinee)

Saturday, September 12 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne (18+ evening show)

Friday, September 18 – The Enmore Theatre, Sydney (Licenced All Ages)

Saturday, September 19 – The Gov, Adelaide (Licenced All Ages)

Friday, September 25 – ANU Bar, Canberra (18+)

Thursday, October 1 – The Great Northern, Byron Bay (18+)

Saturday, October 3 – The Triffid, Brisbane (U18s Matinee)

Saturday, October 3 – The Triffid, Brisbane (18+ evening show)

Friday, October 9 – Republic Bar, Hobart (18+)

Saturday, October 10 – Club 54, Launceston (18+)

Tickets on sale Monday, June 29


Luna

Dean Wareham founded Luna in 1991 after the breakup of Galaxie 500 and went onto release seven albums with the dream pop crew before they split in 2005. Now 17 years after their only Australian tour and a decade since their demise Luna have reunited to tour in September.

Tuesday, September 15 – Brisbane Festival

Wednesday, September 16 – Newtown Social Club, Sydney

Thursday, September 17 – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne

Tickets on sale Tuesday, June 30


Holy Holy

Holy Holy duo Timothy Carroll and Oscar Dawson will hit the road in August with their live band – drummer Ryan Strathie, bassist Graham Ritchie and keys player Matt Redlich – celebrating the release on their debut album When The Storms Would Come. Melbourne band Fractures will join them for many of the dates with Methyl Ethel and Violet Swells also lending support along the way.

Thursday, August 13 – Darwin Festival, Darwin

Friday, August 14 – Prince Of Wales, Bunbury

Saturday, August 15 – Amplifier, Perth

Sunday, August 16 – Newport Hotel, Fremantle

Friday, August 21 – Elsewhere, Gold Coast

Saturday, August 22 – The Zoo, Brisbane

Thursday, August 27 – Fresh On Charles, Launceston

Friday, August 28 – The Republic Bar, Hobart

Saturday, August 29 – Jive, Adelaide

Thursday, September 3 – Workers Club, Geelong

Friday, September 4 – Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Saturday, September 5 – Howler, Melbourne

Friday, September 11 – Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul

Saturday, September 12 – Lizottes, Newcastle

Friday, September 18- Transit Bar, Canberra

Saturday, September 19 – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney


The Shadow Electric Label of Love Series

The Shadow Electric at the Abbortsford Convent in Melbourne has teamed up with this year’s Leaps and Bounds Festival to present a series of label showcases under the Label of Love banner. Labels involved in the series include Aarght, Rice Is Nice, Poison City, Hope Street, Lost and Lonesome, and Bedroom Suck. But the pick of the bunch is probably the Remote Control gig on Sunday, July 12 featuring Pearls, Teeth & Tongue, Methyl Ethel, Dorsal Fins and Sunbeam Sound Machine. Check out the full list of shows here.