Music

Tash Sultana is selling out a shitload of headline shows

Will 2017 be the year of Tash Sultana? In short, probably yes.

She’s coming off a stellar year in 2016, culminating in her taking out the #3 spot in the Hottest 100, and it appears her victory lap won’t be slowing down any time soon. If anything, Tash Sultana’s time at the top is only just beginning.

A few days ago, she announced a string of sideshows around the country to complement her spot on the Groovin’ The Moo lineup. As expected, they sold fast. Really, really freaking fast.

In a number of days, Sultana sold out a mind-boggling four shows at the Melbourne venue 170 Russell, forcing her to add a fifth show. She has also sold out all three shows at Sydney’s Metro Theatre. For your reference, here are the numbers: 170 Russell has a capacity of 900, while the Metro has 1,250.

Meaning that in those few shows alone (provided the fifth Melbourne show will sell out, which let’s be real, it will), Sultana will have played to around 8,250 people. Obviously that’s not even considering the Adelaide, Perth, or Brisbane shows – or the entire Groovin’ The Moo tour.

For an artist that was barely known this time last year, selling out those kinds of venues – let alone repeatedly – is a pretty bloody mean feat. Established acts would struggled to do the same. Oh yeah, and her entire North American tour has sold out – her first ever.

If you haven’t gotten tickets yet, get them – because she won’t be playing club venues for much longer.

Tash Sultana tour dates

Saturday April 1 – The Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW – SOLD OUT 
Sunday April 2 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC – SOLD OUT 
Monday April 17 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC
Tuesday April 18 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC – SOLD OUT 
Sunday April 23 – The Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW – SOLD OUT 
Monday April 24 – The Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW – SOLD OUT 
Wednesday May 10 – The Tivoli, Brisbane QLD – SOLD OUT 
Friday May 12 – The Astor Theatre, Perth WA

Groovin The Moo 2017

Friday April 28 – Adelaide Showgrounds, Wayville SA
Saturday April 29 – Maitland Showground, Maitlaind NSW
Sunday April 30 – Murray Sports Complex/Townsville Cricket Grounds, Townsville QLD
Saturday May 6 – Bendigo’s Prince Of Wales Showground, Bendigo VIC
Sunday May 7 – University Of Canberra, Canberra ACT
Saturday May 13 – Hay Park, Bunbury WA