Surprise! Bjork has released her new album ‘Vulnicura’

Such is the fashion at the moment, Bjork has dropped her new album Vulnicura overnight, two months before its scheduled March release date and only a week since she confirmed details of her eighth LP via Facebook early iTunes release reportedly comes in response to the record leaking online over the weekend.

The singer elaborated on the making of Vulnicura in another note posted to fans on her social media, describing it as “a complete heartbreak album” She wrote: ”[I was] kinda surprised how thoroughly I had documented this in pretty much accurate emotional chronology… like three songs before a break up and three after. So the anthropologist in me sneaked in and I decided to share them as such. First I was worried it would be too self-indulgent but then i felt it might make it even more universal.” See the full post below.

Long-time Bjork collaborator, Venezuelan producer Arca aka Alejandro Ghersi (Kanye West, FKA Twigs), produced six of the album’s songs and co-wrote two with the singer. John Flyn wrote one, with string arrangements from Bjork. Production credits include Bjork, Arca and Haxan Cloak.

Bjork was recently announced as headliner for New York’s Governors Ball in June, alongside Drake and The Black Keys, in addition to confirming six headline shows in New York City.

Something to say?