Sugar Mountain Festival announces first act for 2015 lineup

Sugar Mountain Festival have announced the first act on their 2015 lineup, confirming that Ariel Pink and his seven-piece band will be playing the event when in returns to Melbourne on Saturday, January 24 next year.

Ariel Pink is set to drop his new studio album pom pom on November 18 through 4AD. Labelled a “solo album” the record follows 2012’s Mature Themes which was released under the Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti moniker. pom pom will feature 17 tracks including ‘Jell-O’ and ‘Plastic Raincoats In The Pig Parade’ which were co-written with the Runaways former manager Kim Fowley.

Sugar Mountain returns in January on the weekend that has traditionally hosted the Big Day Out. After taking a year off the team behind the event – Tig Huggins, Pete Keen, Brett Louis and Nicci Reid, collectively known as To and Fro – have announced a new partnership with booking agent and Frontier Touring promoter Gerard Schlaghecke and Mushroom Group executive director Matt Gudinski (the son of legendary promoter Michael).

Speaking to FL in December last year Huggins confirmed that the event will be shifting away from Melbourne’s Forum Theatre, where it’s taken place since 2011. Of the new event he said that we can expect “unparalleled, visceral festival experience” for next year’s return. “We’ll continue to be focussed on new works, collaboration across different creative disciplines, one-off experiences and, most importantly, curating line-ups that are fun and exciting for a discerning music festival-goer,” Huggins said.

The most recent Sugar Mountain festival saw performances by Dirty Projectors, ESG, Action Bronson, Boomgates and, controversially, Kirin J Callinan. Earlier editions of the festival which debuted in 2011 featured performances by Deerhoof, Tune-Yards, Thee Oh Sees, Shabazz Palaces, Virgo Four, Julianna Barwick and John Maus. The festival also has a strong visual arts component, collaborating with the likes Misha Hollenbach, Maya Hayuk, Dylan Martorell, Vincent Moon and Beci Orpin.

The full Sugar Mountain lineup will be announced on Tuesday, October 14.