The Smith Street Band inject some synth in their ballsy new single ‘Birthdays’

Following on from their 2016 single ‘Death To The Lads’, Melbourne favourites The Smith Street Band have just dropped their fresh new track, ‘Birthdays’.

It’s familiar foot-stamping territory for the band, but this time around there’s a new sound sneaking in, courtesy of synth-driven bridge. Wrap your ears around it below.

It’s another taste of their upcoming album, which the band have now announced is due to land in April. Titled More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me, it’s out April 7 via Pool House Records/ Remote Control Records.

It’s been a while between drinks for the band in terms of releases – their last album Throw Me In The River dropped way back in 2014 – but they certainly haven’t disappeared. The band have been touring non-stop since Throw Me In The River was released, hitting up pretty much every major festival in the country as well as a heap of sold out tours overseas.

The new record was pieced together in Stinson Beach, California, with longtime collaborator Jeff Rosenstock on hand as producer. Check out the full tracklist below.

More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me tracklist

1. Forrest
2. Birthdays
3. Death To The Lads
4. Song For You
5. Passiona
6. Run Into The World
7. Shine
8. 25
9. It Kills Me To Have To Be Alive
10. Suffer
11. Young Once
12. Laughing (Or Pretending To Laugh)

Header image via Smith Street Band Facebook