Sixteenth act confirmed for Soundwave

The full Soundwave lineup is less than a week away, but if the festival keeps announcing bands we’ll know all the bands before the official release.

In the past few days the festival has confirmed metal group Kylesa , 30 Seconds to Mars and the sixteenth act officially announced for the festival – Alesana.

The post-hardcore group from Raleigh, North Carolina is returning to Soundwave after playing at the festival in 2009 and played Sidewave gigs with Underoath, Funeral For A Friend and From First To Last.

Alesana – pronounced ‘Alice-Anna’ – released the concept album The Emptiness in January influenced heavily by Edgar Allan Poe’s Annabel Lee.

The band’s singer Shawn Milke also performs vocals on the song Hey There Mr. Brooks by fellow Soundwave 2011 band Asking Alexandria .

The festival’s organiser AJ Maddah has also scratched a few more acts off our wishlists for the Soundwave 2011 lineup including The Dangerous Summer, Fireworks, Firebird, Electric Wizard, Orange Goblin, Grand Magus, Astra, Flyleaf, InFlames and Avenged Sevenfold. According to Maddah: “Avenged were supposed to be on it. But their manager thinks they should get paid millions and headlne the festival. Feel free to hit the band on twitter/myspace, etc, and let them know their manager is a douche-nozzle.”

Head to the Soundwave all about page for all the latest news and announcements.