Regurgitator going on indefinite hiatus

During their keynote address at the BIGSOUND music conference in Brisbane earlier this month Regurgitator’s Quan Yeomans and Ben Ely explained that part of the reason they’re not as prolific as they used to be (they released their first albums Tu-Plang, Unit and …art in a productive four-year period) is how far apart they live now – Ely is based in Melbourne and Yeomans in Hong Kong. The wait between albums and tours is about to get even longer, with the band announcing that they’re going on hiatus.

As their recent Facebook update puts it, ”…QUAN is entering the ranks of parenthood with his debut child due with his partner in Hong Kong sometime early 2014. Hooray! Secondly this means the upcoming Dirty Pop tour will be the last trip out there for some time.”

Dirty Pop Fantasy, their eighth album, was released this month. The band are currently on the New Zealand leg of the Dirty Pop tour, and will kick off their Australian dates at Hobart’s Republic Bar on Wednesday, September 25.


Regurgitator’s Dirty Pop tour:

Saturday, September 21 – Kings Arms, Auckland

Wednesday, September 25 – Republic Bar, Hobart

Friday, September 27 – Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Saturday, September 28 – The Hifi, Melbourne

Wednesday, October 2 – Waves, Wollongong

Thursday, October 3 – Zierholz, Canberra

Friday, October 4- The Hifi, Sydney

Saturday, October 5 – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle

Sunday, October 6 – The Gov, Adelaide

Thursday, October 10 – Kings Beach Tavern, Sunshine Coast

Friday, October 11 – The Hi-Fi, Brisbane

Saturday, October 12 – Coolangatta Hotel, Gold Coast

Sunday, October 13 – The Northern, Byron Bay

Wednesday, October 16 – Indi Bar, Scarborough

Thurday, October 17 – The Prince, Bunbury

Friday, October 18 – Metropolis, Fremantle

Saturday, October 19 – The Rosemount, Perth