Red Hot Chili Peppers return with new song ‘Dark Necessities’

It’s nearly been five long years since Red Hot Chili Peppers last gave the world a full-length offering in the form of 2011’s I’m With You. Now the band have just revealed ‘Dark Necessities’, the first taste of their eleventh studio album.

Released overnight and teased earlier in the week on Twitter, ‘Dark Necessities’ is the band’s first official single in nearly four years. It’s the first single from the just-announced LP The Getaway, slated for release June 17.

At its preliminary stages, the album had been described as “very different and unique” by drummer Chad Smith, with production coming from Danger Mouse and Nigel Godrich – super-producer Rick Rubin sitting out his first RHCP since 1989’s Mother’s Milk.

Red Hot Chili Peppers will be hitting Lollapalooza in late July, most likely bringing some fresh material to the festival stage.

Stream ‘Dark Necessities’ below.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.28.35 AM

The Getaway Tracklisting:

1. The Getaway
2. Dark Necessities
3. We Turn Red
4. The Longest Wave
5. Goodbye Angels
6. Sick Love
7. Go Robot
8. Feasting on the Flowers
9. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai