News In Brief: Face The Music, CherryFest, RocKwiz

CherryFest lineup announced

Cherry Bar’s 13-band dogpile CherryFest is happening across two stages at – where else? – the iconic Melbourne pub and its adjacent AC/DC Lane, running from noon until 9:30pm Sunday, November 24. US band The BellRays will headline for the only Victorian date of their tour, while Powder Monkeys will cap off their recent resurgence with some choice guest singers. Also on the bill: German band Kadavar, Sweden’s Blues Pills, Chris Wilson’s Crown of Thorns, Money For Rope, Legends of Motorsport, Dead River, Sheriff, The Mercy Kills, The Deep End, Hoss and Geelong’s 25-piece teenage-girl ensemble The Sweethearts. Says Cherry Bar booker and co-owner James Young: ”[Last month] we got to see John Nolan and Timmy Jack Ray joined by a collection of lead singers paying homage to the incredible legacy of this incredible tough-as-nails pub-rock band. Now, the band has agreed to do it one more time … Powder Monkeys’ last hurrah at CherryFest in AC/DC Lane!” Tickets here.

Face The Music first speakers

The first round of national and international speakers has been announced for Face the Music. Scheduled for November 15 and 16 at Arts Centre Melbourne, the annual conference will share its full line-up of 150 music-industry leaders in a couple weeks. For now they’ve teased the following list: ARIA’s Dan Rosen, Jess Beston of Tiny Monster, Australian music entrepreneur Bruce Milne, artist Cash Savage, John Watson of Eleven/John Watson Management, Sophie Miles of Mistletone Records, Peter Karpin of Universal Music Australia, Kim Carter of Rockstar Management, Dr Ianto Ware of the National Live Music Office, Marcus Teague (The Vine), Tim Morrison of Trial Kennedy, Nic Warnock of R.I.P. Society/Repressed Records, Markus Popp of Oval (Germany) and Ross Knight from Cosmic Psychos (pictured, above right). 
Oh, and M+N/FasterLouder kingpin Darren Levin. One- and two-day passes are on sale now.

Farewell RocKwiz

The final episode of RocKwiz series 11 will air tomorrow (Aug 31), on SBS. Guests include Tex Perkins, Mia Dyson (who performs the opening song), Charlie Owen and Don Walker. This series has already seen performances by the likes of Courtney Barnett, Chet Faker, Urthboy, Archie Roach, Dinosaur Jr’s J Mascis, Norman Blake, Jens Lekman, Sarah Lee Guthrie, Dave Faulkner, Spencer P Jones, Paul Dempsey and Gurrumul. Watch season highlights below. RocKwiz is planning to release Volume 4 of its duets collection, With a Little Help From Our Friends, on CD and DVD, and also preparing for a limited run of live shows in December.

[Via Mess+Noise]

Something to say?