‘Nevermind’ tribute album

Midnight Juggernauts, The Vaselines, Amanda Palmer and Surfer Blood are just some of the names behind the slyly named Newermind, a track-by-track cover album of Nirvana’s much-loved Nevermind.

Curated by SPIN Magazine to celebrate the album’s 20th anniversary, the tribute will be released in addition to a deluxe format reissue of the original Nevermind and will be available as a free download tomorrow.

It’s not the first time SPIN have commissioned a covers album either; they did it with Prince’s Purple Rain too. What’ll get the complete covers treatment next?

Take a listen to Telekinesis reworking On A Plain

Newermind tribute tracklist:

1. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Meat Puppets

2. In Bloom – Butch Walker

3. Come As You Are – Midnight Juggernauts

4. Breed – Titus Andronicus

5. Lithium – The Vaselines

6. Polly – Amanda Palmer

7. Territorial Pissings – Surfer Blood

8. Drain You – Foxy Shazam

9. Lounge Act – Jessica Lea Mayfield

10. Stay Away – Charles Bradley and the Menahan Street Band

11. On A Plain – Telekinesis

12. Something In The Way – JEFF the Brotherhood

13. Endless, Nameless – EMA