Music

Midnight Oil have announced a one-off Sydney pub show

As promised, Midnight Oil have announced a small, one-off pub show to kick off their mammoth international tour. Taking  to the stage at Selina’s at the Coogee Bay Hotel in Sydney, it will officially mark the start of The Great Circle 2017 tour, which will see them visit dozens of cities across of Australia, Europe, UK, North and South America, Canada and beyond.

The gig, easily the smallest on their global run, will take place in two weeks on April 13.

Selina’s has a long history of hosting bands that would go on to much bigger things. Midnight Oil performed their during their formative years, as did INXS, Cold Chisel, Hunters and Collectors and Divinyls among others. International artists who have played there also include Nirvana, David Bowie, Sir Elton John and Soundgarden.

Rather than simply purchasing tickets, the band are conducting a ticket ballot to allow fans a fair opportunity. To enter, you can register on Ticketek’s official website from today until 8am on Monday April 2. Successful entrants will be chosen at random, and the winners will be able to purchase two tickets each for $99.90 from midday on April 4 until midday on April 7.

Following the Coogee gig, the band will head to South America to kick off the tour in Brazil. They’ll return to Australia in October for more than 20 shows across the entire country – see full dates below.

Midnight Oil ‘The Great Circle’ tour dates

Monday October 2 – ANZAC Oval, Alice Springs NT
Wednesday October 4 – Darwin Amphitheatre, Darwin NT
Saturday October 7 – Kuranda Amphitheatre  Cairns QLD
Tuesday October 10 – Townsville Ent. Centre, Townsville QLD
Thursday October 12 – Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton QLD
Saturday October 14 – Big Pineapple Fields, Sunshine Coast QLD
Sunday October 15 – Riverstage, Brisbane QLD
Thursday October 19 – Hockey Fields, Coffs Harbour NSW
Saturday October 21 – Hope Estate, Hunter Valley NSW
Tuesday October 24 – AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT
Thursday October 26 – The Village Green, Adelaide Oval SA
Saturday October 28 – Perth Arena, Perth WA
Wednesday November 1 – Derwent Entertainment Centre, Hobart TAS
Friday November 3 – Gateway Lakes, Wodonga VIC
Saturday November 4 – Hanging Rock, Mt Macedon VIC
Monday November 6 – Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne VIC
Wednesday November 8 – Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne VIC
Saturday November 11 – The Domain, Sydney NSW
Monday November 13 – Win Ent. Centre, Wollongong NSW
Friday November 17 – The Domain, Sydney NSW