Music

Midnight Oil have announced a massive global tour

We knew it was coming, but now it’s official: Midnight Oil have announced a stack of tour dates across the country and the globe.

‘The Great Circle Tour’ will kick off with a special pub show in Sydney in April. The band will then jet off for a heap of dates around the globe before returning for a full run of dates around Australia in October. They’ll finish with a huge show in the Domain on November 11.

They haven’t locked in a single support act, but instead have locked in a number of acts to help them out on their run: The Jezabels, The Living End, Birds Of Tokyo, Spiderbait, The John Butler Trio, A.B. Original and a heap more will appear at various shows.

It will be the first time Midnight Oil have toured Australia since dissolving in 2002, with Peter Garrett putting music to the side to focus on his political career. There have been two special reunions since for charity events, performing at WaveAid in 2005 and Sound Relief in 2009.

They also announced the release of a remastered box set called The Full Tank – which will feature 14 hours of previously unreleased material. It’s due to be released May 5.

Check out the full run of dates below, and head here for all ticket info. Details for their Sydney pub show in April will be announced closer to the date.

Midnight Oil ‘The Great Circle’ tour dates

Monday October 2 – ANZAC Oval, Alice Springs NT
Wednesday October 4 – Darwin Amphitheatre, Darwin NT
Saturday October 7 – Kuranda Amphitheatre  Cairns QLD
Tuesday October 10 – Townsville Ent. Centre, Townsville QLD
Thursday October 12 – Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton QLD
Saturday October 14 – Big Pineapple Fields, Sunshine Coast QLD
Sunday October 15 – Riverstage, Brisbane QLD
Thursday October 19 – Hockey Fields, Coffs Harbour NSW
Saturday October 21 – Hope Estate, Hunter Valley NSW
Tuesday October 24 – AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT
Thursday October 26 – The Village Green, Adelaide Oval SA
Saturday October 28 – Perth Arena, Perth WA
Wednesday November 1 – Derwent Entertainment Centre, Hobart TAS
Friday November 3 – Gateway Lakes, Wodonga VIC
Saturday November 4 – Hanging Rock, Mt Macedon VIC
Monday November 6 – Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne VIC
Wednesday November 8 – WIN Entertainment Centre, Wollongong NSW
Saturday November 11- The Domain, Sydney NSW