Metallica celebrate 30th anniversary with four ‘new’ songs

Last week, Metallica commemorated their thirtieth anniversary with a four-night residency at the Fillmore in San Francisco with guest appearances from the likes of Ozzy Osbourne, Glenn Danzig and Lou Reed.

During the final show drummer Lars Ulrich told the crowd at those shows that the band was preparing a major announcement in January next year which will apparently involve “a special interactive fan event in June of 2012” and hopefully has nothing to do with Lou Reed talking over boring Metallica jams – as that would be the worst thing ever, again.

While we wait for the announcement, the anniversary celebrations continue with four previously unreleased (and unfinished) songs taken from the Death Magnetic sessions now available for fans to download.

A statement posted on the Metallica website explains that: “During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years… Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs???.’ We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ‘08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”

Beyond Magnetic track listing:

1. Hate Train

2. Just a Bullet Away

3. Hell and Back

4. Rebel Of Babylon

Metallica played one ‘new’ track at each night of the Fillmore residency – watch them here: