Local tours in brief: King Gizzard, Deep Sea Arcade, Saskwatch

Violent slabs of psych-garage, nine-piece soul/funk crews and a solo debuts from an ex-Middle East member in the latest wrap up of local tour announcements.

King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard will be on tour in September and October kicking-off with a show in their native Geelong and heading along the East Coast and to Tasmania and at Big Sound. The FL Playlisted Gizzard gang is hitting the road in support of the release of their debut album of psych-garage 12 Bar Bruise, which comes out September 7 through their own label Flightless.

King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard tour:

Saturday 8 September – Nash, Geelong

Wednesday 12 September – Big Sound, Brisbane

Friday 21 September – Castlemaine Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine

Friday 28 September – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Saturday 6 October – Tote, Melbourne

Sunday 7 October – Tote, Melbourne

Friday 12 October – Ed Castle, Adelaide

Friday 19 October – Brisbane Hotel, Hobart

Currently on tour with Bluejuice throughout August, Deep Sea Arcade head over to the UK and Europe next month and return home in November for their last headline tour before they disappear into the studio early next year to record the follow up to their debut Outlands.

Deep Sea Arcade tour:

Friday 9 November – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Friday 16 November – The Zoo, Brisbane

Thursday 22 November – Adelaide Uni Bar, Adelaide

Friday 23 November – Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Friday 30 November – Metro Theatre, Sydney

Kirin J Callinan is currently working on his debut solo album with The Presets’ Kim Moyes, whose younger brother Kris directed the rather messed up clip for Callinan’s W II W. According to his press release “all work and no play makes Kirin an unhappy shit” so Callinan has booked a trio of gigs before heading to New York to play solo dates with Kindness and Blood Orange.

Kirin J Callinan tour:

Wednesday 12 September – Big Sound, Brisbane

Saturday 15 September – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne

Thursday 11 October – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Ex-Middle East member Rohin Jones is hitting the road as R.L. Jones & The Phony Mexican Diner, his “collection of ramshackle musical friends” including a few ex-Middle East members and some of the gang from fellow Townsville troupe Joseph Liddy & The Skeleton Horse. Having kicked off his post-Middle East solo career by teaming up with Magic Dirt’s Adalita for Everybody Wants To Be Your Friend Jones is currently working on his solo debut album, which is due for release next year.

Friday 7 September – Gasometer, Melbourne, VIC

Saturday 8 September – Goodgod, Sydney, NSW

Saskwatch have just announced that they’ll be following their triumphant Golden Plains set by returning to Meredith in December this year but before heading back to the Supernatural Amphitheatre the nine-piece soul/funk outfit will be on the road for a run of dates in September/October. The band will be launching their debut album Leave It All Behind with shows at the Big Sound and Wave Rock festivals and then returning home to Melbourne to headline a show with The Harpoons and The Bluebottles.

Saskwatch tour:

Thursday 13 September – Big Sound, Brisbane

Friday 14 September- Sol Bar, Maroochydore

Saturday 15 September – Qpac, Brisbane (Free show)

Sunday 16 September – Beach Hotel, Byron Bay (Free show)

Thursday 20 September – Goodgod Small Club, Sydney

Friday 21 September – Stoke Factory, Wollongong

Saturday 22 September- Transit Bar, Canberra

Friday 28 September – Jive Bar, Adelaide

Saturday 29 September – Wave Rock Festival, Haden

Friday 5 October – The Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Saturday 6 October – Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Sunday 7 October – The Palais, Hepburn Springs