Listen: The Black Keys new single ‘Fever’

The Black Keys have released the lead single from their new album, Turn Blue.

‘Fever’ adds an organ line to the bands usual two piece stomp and features the polished production sheen of regular collaborator Danger Mouse who has co-produced the band’s Attack & Release, Brothers and El Camino albums. In a statement Carney says that the duo wanted to “let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds on this record.”

This will be The Black Keys’ eighth album, and their first since 2011’s El Camino. Co-produced by Danger Mouse and recorded in Nashville, that album produced the hit ‘Lonely Boy’, which came in at number two in that year’s triple j Hottest 100. It was also the most-played song on Australian radio in 2012.

According to a press release, “Turn Blue could refer to: A: Suffocation B: Sadness C: Numbness from extreme cold D: A Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi E: All of the above.” The album is due for release on May 13.

Turn Blue tracklist

Weight of Love

In Time

Turn Blue


Year in Review

Bullet in the Brain

It’s Up to You Now

Waiting on Words

10 Lovers

In Our Prime

Gotta Get Away