Listen: Tame Impala’s new album ‘Lonerism’

Tame Impala’s much anticipated second album ‘Lonerism’ isn’t out until this Friday, but thanks to Modular you’ll be able to stream it all this week on FL.

The follow-up to 2010 debut Innerspeaker, Lonerism was recorded and produced almost entirely by frontman Kevin Parker in “studios, planes, hotels and homes around the world”, and later mixed by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT). It features cover art by collaborator Leif Podhajsky and new single ‘Elephant’, which was recently remixed by legendary producer and musician Todd Rundgren.

Speaking recently to FL, Parker wanted to make clear that Tame Impala wasn’t really a band, despite being augmented live by Jay Watson, Dominic Simper, Nick Allbrook and Julien Barbagallo.

“Yeah, I just do it by myself, basically,” Parker told FL from Paris, where he’s now based. “The band comes in when we play live, when we tour the album. So I guess you could say it’s not really a band … That’s the way it’s always been. People call us a band, but it’s not really very accurate. I just lay down each instrument as I feel inspired or whatever, and eventually the song is finished. That’s how it happens.”

Currently touring the country with Parklife, Parker also flagged an as-yet-unannounced end-of-year tour. “Well, we’ve got this Parklife tour coming up. After that, I think we’re touring in December. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to say that, but that’s what’s happening.”

Lonerism is out through Modular on October 5. Limited-edition vinyl pre-order here.