Kieran Ryan of Kid Sam reveals solo album details

Kieran Ryan, Melbourne-based songwriter and former singer of the now dissolved indie rock duo Kid Sam, has just revealed the details for his forthcoming solo debut.

Due out on April 5 through Spunk Records, the self-titled record will showcase a very different sound to Kid Sam’s self-titled debut which was released back in 2009. While Ryan initially began recording tracks from his bedroom, the album was put together in the final stages with the help of producer and friend Myles Wootton (The Panics) and engineered by Matt Voight who has previously worked with Cat Power and Geoffrey O’Connor.

Ryan and Wootton began working on the album towards the end of 2011 after months of sporadic studio sessions. The debut release features nine tracks which explore a variety of themes such as history, the passing of time, and finding ones place in the world, while embodying both a medieval and present time setting. Guest musicians include Annabel Grigg of Oh Mercy, Kelly Lane of Skipping Girl Vinegar and Luke Benge from Sikap Sempurna; cellist turned singer-songwriter Jessica Venables, who features on ‘Out of Africa’; and Dave Henry who provides trumpet for ‘The Stage’.

Ryan has previously stated that a reformation of Kid Sam is unlikely, choosing instead to focus on his solo venture.

Kieran Ryan will be performing in Sydney tonight (February 7), supporting Julia Holter at York St Anglican Church.

Kieran Ryan tracklist:

01. Out of Africa

02. Red Eyed Birds

03. Are You A Conspirator?

04. The Stage

05. What Matters

06. Building A Snowman

07. Me And Laura Lee

08. The Cannibal Club

09. The World Is Ending