Jagermeister Independent Music Awards winners announced

Dan Sultan and Cloud Control dominated the fifth annual Jagermeister Independent Music Awards held at the Forum Theatre in Melbourne on Friday night.

Hosted by Nova presenter Scott ‘Dools’ Dooley ( who spent much of the night making ‘hipster’ jokes at the expense of FL sister site Mess & Noise ), the awards included performances from The Amity Affliction, Cloud Control and a mildly pissed off British India who, defying all odds, managed to blow up two amps.

Speaking to FasterLouder’s reviewer on the night, crowd favourite Dan Sultan praised the awards noting, “There is just so much talent out there, it is crazy! I think it is great how these awards highlight independent artists like no other’s do, and take the time to hand out that recognition and offer such support.”

The 2010 Jagermeister Independent Music Award winners:

Best Independent Album

Cloud Control – Bliss Release

Breakthrough Independent Artist

Cloud Control

Best Independent Artist

Dan Sultan

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album

Dan Sultan – Get Out While You Can

Best Independent Single or EP

Little Red – Rock It

Best Independent Hard Rock or Punk Album

Parkway Drive – Deep Blue

Best Independent Country Album

Kasey Chambers, Poppa Bill and The Little Hillbillies – Lost Music Blues

Best Independent Hip Hop/Urban album:

Urthboy – Spitshine

Best Independent Jazz album:

Stu Hunter – The Gathering

Best Independent Dance/Electronica album:

Midnight Juggernauts – The Crystal Axis

Most Popular Independent Artist:

John Butler Trio

Click here for a full review of the 2010 Independent Awards ceremony.