Independent Music Awards nominees

Cloud Control and Dan Sultan lead the nominees for the Jagermeister Independent Music Awards with three nods, while every local independent jazz album released in the last year seems to have been nominated in the Best Independent Jazz Album award.

The late Rowland S Howard is in line for a posthumous honour with a nomination in the Best Independent Album category for his second LP Pop Crimes. He faces competition from Cloud Control for Bliss Release, Dan Kelly for Dan Kelly’s Dream, Dan Sultan for Get Out While You Can, Eddy Current Suppression Ring for Rush To Relax and Sia for We Are Born.

In addition to the industry awards there is also a new popular choice category this year – Most Popular Independent Artist, sponsored by the undisputed champions of Australian independent music Nova FM. The nominees in the new category – John Butler Trio, Basement Birds, Bliss N Eso, Philadelphia Grand Jury and Midnight Juggernauts – can presumably expect to be playlisted by Nova sometime soon.

The awards will be hosted by NOVA announcer Scott Dooley at The Forum Theatre in Melbourne on Friday 1st October and feature performances from Amity Affliction, Cloud Control, British India, Sally Seltmann and others.

Jagermeister Independent Music Awards 2010 nominees:

Best Independent Artist

British India (Independent/Shock)

Cloud Control (Ivy League)

Dan Kelly (Independent/Shock)

Dan Sultan (Independent/MGM)

Eddy Current Suppression Ring (Independent/Shock)

Sia (Independent)

Breakthrough Independent Artist

Bridezilla (Inertia Recordings)

Cloud Control (Ivy League)

Otouto (Two Bright Lakes/Inertia)

Philadelphia Grand Jury (Boomtown Records/Shock)

Richard In Your Mind (Rice Is Nice/Other Tongues)

The Jezebels (Independent/MGM)

Best Independent Album

Cloud Control – Bliss Release (Ivy League)

Dan Kelly – Dan Kelly’s Dream (Independent/Shock)

Dan Sultan – Get Out While You Can (Independent/MGM)

Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Rush To Relax (Independent/Shock)

Rowland S Howard – Pop Crimes (Liberation)

Sia – We Are Born (Independent/Inertia)

Best Independent Single Or EP

Bliss N Eso – ‘Down By The River’ (Illusive)

Little Red – ‘Rock It’ (Liberation)

Philadelphia Grand Jury – ‘The Good News’ (Boomtown/Shock)

Sia – ‘Clap Your Hands’ (Independent/Inertia)

The Jezabels – ‘She’s So Hard’ (Independent/MGM)

The Temper Trap – ‘Love Lost’ (Liberation)

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album

Ash Grunwald – Hot Mama Vibes (Delta Groove/Shock)

Dan Sultan – Get Out While You Can (Independent/MGM)

Jeff Lang – Chimeradour (ABC Records)

Mama Kin – Beat and Holler (Independent/MGM)

The Beautiful Girls – Spooks (Independent/MGM)

The Red Eyes – Red Army (Independent/MGM)

Best Independent Hard Rock Or Punk Album

50 Lions – Where Life Expires (Resist/Shock)

Calling All Cars – Hold, Hold, Fire (Independent/Shock)

House Vs. Hurricane – Perspectives (Independent/Shock)

Parkway Drive – Deep Blue (Resist/Shock)

The Amity Affliction – Youngbloods (Boomtown/Shock)

Best Independent Country Album

Amber Lawrence – When It All Comes Down (Compass Brothers)

Deborah Conway – Half Man, Half Woman (Independent/MGM)

Kasey Chambers, Poppa Bill and The Little Hillbillies – Lost Music Blues (Liberation)

The Dingoes – Tracks (Liberation)

The Sunny Cowgirls – Summer (Compass Brothers/Shock)

Best Independent Hip Hop/Urban Album

Horrorshow – Inside Story (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Lowrider – Round The World (Illusive)

M-Phazes – Good Gracious (Obese Records)

Ozi Batla – Wild Colonial (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Urthboy – Spitshine (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album

Faux Pas – Noiseworks (Sensory Projects/Inertia)

Jamie Lloyd – Beware Of The Light (Future Classic)

Midnight Juggernauts – The Crystal Axis (Siberia/Inertia)

Nick Thayer – Just Let It Go (Independent)

Opiuo – Slurp And Giggle (Addictech)

Space Invades – Soul:Fi (Invada Records)

Best Independent Jazz Album

Alister Spence Trio – Fit (Rufus Records)

Allan Browne Quintet – Une Saison En Enfer (Jazzhead)

Ben Winkelman Trio – Odysseys (Jazzhead)

Bernie McGann – Double Dutch (Independent)

Jamie Oehlers and Paul Graboswky – On A Clear Day (Jazzhead)

Joe Chindamo – Another Place Another Time (Jazzhead)

Jonathan Zwartz – The Sea (Independent)

Mike Nock Trio – An Accumulation Of Subtleties (FWM Records)

Stu Hunter – The Gathering (Vitamin)

Way Out West – The Effects Of The Weather (Jazzhead)