Hear Alt-J reach peak Alt-J on new single ‘In Cold Blood’

Ahead of their new album, Alt-J have released the second single from their forthcoming album Relaxer. It’s called ‘In Cold Blood’, and it sounds very Alt-J.

The track has been a long time coming. In a press release, the band explained that ‘In Cold Blood’ was first written back when lived in Leeds, so it’s about ten years old. They revisited the song last year, and finished writing it in London. “The brass was recorded at Abbey Road,” they said. “The keyboards were done on a Casiotone that cost £1.05 on eBay; and no-one is quite sure where the key change came from.”

The track and its more cryptically-titled predecessor ‘3WW‘ are Alt-J’s first new singles since their 2014 album This Is All Yours. Relaxer, their third full length album, is set for release on June 2, 2017. Though they’ve now been officially ruled out for Splendour in the Grass 2017, they’re no stranger to our shores, and fans can likely expect a tour announcement later in the year.

Check out the tracklist and album artwork below.

Alt-J, Relaxer tracklist:

1. 3WW

2. In Cold Blood

3. House Of The Rising Sun

4. Hit Me Like That Snare

5. Deadcrush

6. Adeline

7. Last Year

8. Pleader