Grinspoon announce “indefinite break”

After 18 years, seven albums, 13 ARIA nominations, well over 1,000 shows and countless ridiculous tweets from frontman Phil Jamieson Grinspoon have announced that they are taking some well earned time off.

In a statement released on their website this morning the band – Jamieson, guitarist Pat Davern, bassist Joe Hansen and drummer Kristian Hopes – told fans they are going on a long-term hiatus to pursue individual projects:

“Thanks to all our families, friends, and especially our fans for the support over the last 18 years – it’s been a wild ride to say the least. We are still a band of brothers but it’s time for us to take a break and recharge the batteries. We’re excited to see what our future holds…adios amigos, it’s been a blast!I t’s been a blast!”

The band formed in the NSW town of Lismore in 1995, where they demoed the track ‘Sickfest’ which went on to win the first ever triple j Unearthed competition. The single was included on their debut self-titled EP, which also contained the hit ‘More Than You Are’. This was soon followed up by their Licker Bottle Cozy EP in 1996 and their debut album Guide To Better Living in 1997, which included the songs ‘DCx3’, ‘Just Ace’ and ‘Champion’. The band achieved their most commercial success with 2002’s New Detention album which peaked at #2 on the ARIA charts and had four singles on the triple j Hottest 100 in 2002, including ‘Chemical Heart’ which took out the #2 position.

Their most recent album was 2012’s Black Rabbits which frontman Phil Jamieson told FL he believed was the band’s strongest album to date. “We want to be proud of a record and I think we’ve done something really quite good and not something that is ultimately clichéd,” he said.

Grinspoon’s final show will take place on Friday, December 20 at Eaton Hills Hotel in Brisbane.