Gotye, The Temper Trap lead the ARIA 2012 winners list

Gotye has swept the 2012 ARIA Awards, held at the Sydney Entertainment Centre last night, taking home all four of the pointy statues for which he was nominated. Accepting the final award of the night – album of the year – the ever humble Gotye told his fans “There are a bunch of fantastic albums, especially by Australian artists, that I fell in love with this year … so keep listening to records, keep buying records.”

Taking out the ARIA for best male The Basics drummer has joined the likes of John Farnham, Diesel and Alex Lloyd as a three-times winner of the award.

His duet partner on ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’, Kimbra, won the award for best female artist while other multiple award winners included The Temper Trap and adult contemporary star Missy Higgins. DZ Deathrays won the prize for best hard rock album, while 360 accepted the award for breakthrough act with a typically restrained speech. After mocking the likes of T-Pain, Akon and Nero Ryan “Fitzy” Fitzgerald and Michael “Wippa” Wipfli awarded the ARIA for best international artist to a more deserving act from overseas – One Direction. The Jessica Mauboy medallion for services to comedic mispronunciation was awarded to Ian “Molly” Meldrum for his introduction of “Gay” Sebastian’s ‘Battle Scars’.

While the night was clearly Gotye’s, the highlight came from Yothu Yindi who were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame by Paul Kelly and Peter Garrett. Yothu Yindi were joined on stage by Kelly, Garrett, Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, and Andrew Farriss for a rousing version of their international hit ‘Treaty’. Other performers on Australian music’s night of nights included Timomatic and Justice Crew who cartwheeled their way through ‘Set It Off’ and ‘Boom Boom’, Jessica Mauboy who performed a medley of Motown classics, and Taylor Swift. The awards also featured performances from Hilltop Hoods, Missy Higgins, The Jezabels, 360 with Gossling, and Kimbra before The Temper Trap ended the show with ‘Trembling Hands’.

ARIA awards for 2012:

Album of the Year: Gotye – Making Mirrors

Best Group: The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap

Best Male Artist: Gotye – Making Mirrors

Best Female Artist: Kimbra – Vows

Breakthrough Artist: 360 – Falling and Flying

Best Independent Release: The Jezabels – Prisoner

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazzle

Best Blues & Roots Album: Jeff Lang – Carried in Mind

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album: DZ Deathrays – Bloodstreams

Best Rock Album: The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap

Best Urban Album: Hilltop Hoods – Drinking from the Sun

Best Country Album: The McClymonts – Two Worlds Collide

Best Children’s Album: The Wiggles – Surfer Jeff

Best Comedy Release: Buddy Goode – Unappropriate

Best Pop Release: Gotye – Making Mirrors

Best Dance Release: Ivan Gough and Feenixpawl featuring Georgi Kay – ‘In My Mind’

Song of the Year: Matt Corby – ‘Brother’

Best Video: Missy Higgins – ‘Everyone’s Waiting’ (Director: Natasha Pincus)

Best Australian Live Act: Gotye

Best International Artist: One Direction