Gotye, 360 lead 2012 ARIA Award nominations

It’ll be a battle of the pseudonyms at this year’s 2012 ARIA Awards, with the general nominations as well as winners of the Artisan categories announced in Sydney this morning.

Leading the charge is outspoken rapper 360 (aka Matt Colwell) with six nominations – including Album Of The Year and Song Of The Year – while Gotye (aka Wally De Backer) and Sydney rock band The Jezebels follow closely with five nods a piece. Gotye won six awards at the 2011 ARIA’s for his ubiquitous single ’ Somebody That I Used To Know’, however, his album Making Mirrors only became eligible for contention this year due to its late release date. It has already taken out one award winning the Artisan Award for Best Cover.

The Bamboos and Dappled Cities are among the Best Independent nominees, while DZ Deathrays have been recognised in The Hard Rock or Heavy Metal category for their debut Bloodstreams, alongside punk stalwarts Frenzal Rhomb. Melbourne lads and sub-pop signing Husky will contest to the Adult Contemporary category, and The Beards look a shoe-in for Best Comedy Release.

Dirty Three will face off against Cold Chisel and The Living End for Best Live Act, which we hope they take out if only to hear Warren Ellis’ thank-you speech that’ll surely include references to Gina Rinehart, Phil Jamieson and Bunnings.

ARIA Artisan Award Winners

Best Producer: Styalz Fuego for 360 – Falling & Flying

Best Engineer: Francois Tetaz (Gotye – Making Mirrors)

Best Cover: Gotye – Making Mirrors

Best Original Soundtrack: triple j – Straight To You: triple j’s Tribute to Nick Cave

ARIA 2012 Nominations

Album of the Year:

360 – Falling & Flying

Gotye – Making Mirrors

Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazze

The Jezabels – Prisoner

The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap

Best Female Artist:

Jessica Mauboy


Lanie Lane

Missy Higgins


Best Male Artist:


Angus Stone


Guy Sebastian

Keith Urban

Matt Corby

Song of the Year:

360 feat. Gossling

Delta Goodrem

Guy Sebastian

Hilltop Hoods feat. Sia

Jessica Mauboy and Stan Walker

Justice Crew

Matt Corby

Reece Mastin



Best Australian Live Act:


Cold Chisel

Dirty Three


Hilltop Hoods

Hoodoo Gurus

Kate Miller-Heidke

The Bamboos

The Jezabels

The Living End

Best Independent Release:

Dappled Cities – Lake Air

Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp – Songs of the Southern Skies

San Cisco – Awkward

The Bamboos – Medicine Man

The Jezabels – Prisoner

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album:

Buried In Verona – Notorious (

DZ Deathrays – Bloodstreams

Frenzal Rhomb – Smoko at the Pet Food Factory

House Vs Hurricane – Crooked Teeth

Sleepmakeswaves – …and so we destroyed everything

Best Urban Album:

360 – Falling & Flying

Hilltop Hoods – Drinking From The Sun

Katalyst – Deep Impressions

The Bamboos – Medicine Man

The Herd – Future Shade

Best Pop Release:


Guy Sebastian

Jessica Mouboy


San Cisco

Best Rock Album:

Children Collide – Monument

Cold Chisel – No Plans

Oh Mercy – Deep Heat

The Jezabels – Prisoner

The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap

Best Adult Contemporary Album:

Darren Hayes – Secret Codes And Battleships

Husky – Forever So

Josh Pyke – Only Sparrows

Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp – Songs of the Southern Skies

Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazzle

Best Blues & Roots Album:

Angus Stone

Jeff Lang

Lanie Lane

Mia Dyson

Paul Greene & The Other Colours

Best Group:

Boy and Bear

Cold Chisel

Hilltop Hoods

The Jezabels

The Temper Trap

Breakthrough Artist:



Lanie Lane

Matt Corby

San Cisco

Best Country Album:

Beccy Cole – Songs and Pictures

Catherine Britt – Always Never Enough

McAlister Kemp – Country Proud

The McClymonts – Two Worlds Collide

Troy Cassar-Daley – Home

Best Comedy Release:

Anthony Salame – Is This thing On?

Arj Barker – Joy Harvest

Buddy Goode – Unappropriate

Sammy J – Skinny Man, Modern World

The Beards – Having A Beard Is The New Not Having A Beard

Best International Artist:


Bruno Mars


David Guetta

Ed Sheeran

Florence and The Machine


Michael Buble

One Direction

The Black Keys

Best Dance Release:

Havana Brown


Ivan Gough & Fenixpawl feat. Georgi Kay

Knife Party

Sneaky Sound System

Best Children’s Album:

Bananas In Pyjamas



Rhys Muldoon

The Wiggles

2012 ARIA Awards will take place on Thursday, 29 November at Sydney Entertainment Centre in Darling Harbour. Public tickets are $49.95 and go on sale 9am Monday, 8 October