First Listen: Tame Impala

Tame Impala will return with their new album Lonerism in October.

The follow-up to Innerspeaker, which topped FL’s Best Albums of 2010 list, has again been recorded and produced by Kevin Parker and mixed by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Mogwai, Mercury Rev, MGMT)

Synthesizers feature on almost every one of the twelve new songs on Lonerism, but the press release promises that you’ll still hear the “searing guitar lines, bouldering drums [and] free bass” that you’d expect on a Tame Impala record.

Speaking to FL about the new record last year, lead singer Kevin Parker said: “With the last record we tried to keep it to 40 minutes which obviously didn’t happen so this time we were aiming to keep it shorter but as it stands we’re already looking like getting to the 50 minute mark”

The album’s first single Elephant will premiere later in July, but you can hear (and download) album track Apocalypse Dreams here.

The full tracklisting and details about a deluxe box set edition of the record will be released soon.