Feist announces her first new album in six years

Feist hasn’t released a new album since 2011’s Metals, but that’s all about to change. Following speculation sparked by a number of announced festival appearances, it’s now been announced that her new album, Pleasure, will be on April 28 via Interscope.

The information seems to have leaked earlier than planned, with Feist tweeting that she woke up to the news, along with an image that we’re assuming is the album artwork.

Across a series of tweets, she revealed more information about the album:

“I’ve been so inward facing during the making of this record that I hadn’t quite prepared myself to face it, and myself, outward again. So here’s what I can tell you…. I made this record last winter with 2 of my closest friends, Mocky and Renaud LeTang. I was raw and so were the takes.”

“Our desire was to record that state without guile or go-to’s and to pin the songs down with conviction and our straight up human bodies. I titled the album Pleasure like I was planting a seed or prophesying some brightness. The experience of pleasure is mild or deep, sometimes temporal, sometimes a sort of low grade lasting, usually a motivator.”

“If the way you look at things is how they look then my motivation is to look with a brighter eye. So there it is, in a nutshell. I’m grateful for your curiosity, the music is en route. Best and soon, Leslie.”

Pleasure tracklist

01 Pleasure
02 I Wish I Didn’t Miss You
03 Get Not High, Get Not Low
04 Lost Dreams
05 Any Party
06 A Man Is Not His Song
07 The Wind
08 Century
09 Baby Be Simple
10 I’m Not Running Away
11 Young Up

Header photo: Joelle Miller 

Something to say?