David Bowie to release new album in March

On his 66th birthday, David Bowie has returned from a nearly decade long hiatus with a new single, and details of a brand new album, The Next Day.

As his press release notes, “in recent years radio silence has been broken only by endless speculation, rumor and wishful thinking … a new record … who would have ever thought it, who’d have ever dreamed it!” The Next Day is the first Bowie album since 2003’s Reality. The album will be released in Australia on March 8, around the world on March 11 (excluding the USA) and in America on March 12.

The lead single, ‘Where Are We Now?’, was written by Bowie and recorded in New York with long term collaborator Tony Visconti. The single comes with a haunting video directed by Tony Oursler which harks back to Bowie’s time in Berlin. Bowie sings of Potsdamer Platz as he watches footage of the Berlin apartment he lived in along with stark images of the city at the time. Watch the video here:

While further details on the record are yet to be released, Bowie’s son, film-director Duncan Jones, has tweeted encouraging fans to buy the record and “knock Taylor feckin Swift off the top of the charts!”

The Next Day tracklisting

01. The Next Day 3:51

02. Dirty Boys 2:58

03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56

04. Love Is Lost 3:57

05. Where Are We Now? 4:08

06. Valentine’s Day 3:01

07. If You Can See Me 3:16

08. I’d Rather Be High 3:53

09. Boss Of Me 4:09

10. Dancing Out In Space 3:24

11. How Does The Grass Grow 4:33

12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30

13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41

14. Heat 4:25

Bonus tracks:

15. So She 2:31

16. I’ll Take You There 2:44

17. Plan 2:34