Channel V’s “Oz Artist of the Year”opens for voting, but who’s missing?

Voting has opened for this year’s Channel [V] Oz Artist of the Year. But cast your eyes over the list of all 50 nominees (see below) and you might notice something a little bit odd.

No, it’s not the inclusion of the New Zealand-born Kimbra – we’ve claimed her now, get over it – it’s the fact that world beaters Tame Impala have somehow been overlooked on a list that includes former reality TV contestants Reece Mastin, Timomatic, Ricki-Lee, Stan Walker and Justice Crew, not to mention The Voice host Delta Goodrem.

The simple explanation: their album Lonerism and its first single ‘Elephant’ missed the cut-off. “Unfortunately Tame Impala missed the period for this year’s [V] Oz Artist so we expect they’ll be a big one for us in 2013,” a representative from Channel [V] told FL this week. “A big part of the selection criteria is the video play for the artist for releases from the previous 12 months.”

Every day for the next 49 days, the artist with the least votes will get knocked off the bottom of the list. Right now, Ricki-Lee, The Potbelleez, Gossling and Catcall are all contenders for eviction, unless you head to the website and save them today. Or you could just vote for Gotye like approximately eleventy billion other fans are about to.

The winner of last year’s Oz Artist was rapper 360, who was involved in a mock online feud with another finalist, Short Stack (RIP).

Voting for the Top 50 closes in 49 days.

Channel [V] Oz Artist of the Year nominees


Guy Sebastian

Sam Sparro


Havana Brown

San Cisco

Angus Stone

Hilltop Hoods

Seth Sentry

Ball Park Music

Jessica Mauboy


Bleeding Knees Club

Jonathan Boulet

Sneaky Sound System


Justice Crew

Something For Kate

Boy & Bear


Stan Walker


Last Dinosaurs

The Getaway Plan

Chet Faker

Lisa Mitchell

The Jezabels

Children Collide

Loon Lake

The Potbelleez

Dappled Cities

Matt Corby

The Presets

Deep Sea Arcade

Missy Higgins

The Rubens

Delta Goodrem

The Temper Trap

DZ Deathrays

Northeast House Party

The Veronicas

Flight Facilities

Oh Mercy



Reece Mastin

Van She



Nine Sons of Dan