Bluesfest have just welcomed another big-name international for 2017

Parrotheads, rejoice. Legendary ‘Margaritaville’ singer Jimmy Buffett has been locked in to perform an Australian exclusive appearance at Bluesfest this year.

A living legend, in his career Buffett has recorded over 50 albums – most of which have gone gold or platinum – and has toured the globe a ludicrous amount of times, inspiring a devoted fanbase affectionately known as the Parrotheads. He’ll be hitting our shores with his band The Coral Reefers, so get ready to blow your pipes singing ‘Cheeseburger in Paradise’ and ‘Come Monday’.

The addition comes after Neil Young and the Bee Gee’s Barry Gibb both pulled out of the festival late last year. Buffett joins the likes of Santana, Patti Smith, Mary J. Blige, The Doobie Brothers, and Bonnie Raitt.

The lineup is far from sorted yet though, with Bluesfest set to lock in even more artists in the lead up to the festival. Check out the current lineup below.

Bluesfest will be held over the Easter weekend at Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm. Tickets are on sale now.

Bluesfest 2017 lineup

Fifth announcement: 

Jimmy Buffett And The Coral Reefers

Fourth announcement:

Miles Electric Band
Patti Smith And Her Band (acoustic set)
Billy Bragg And Joe Henry
Slightly Stoopid
Rhiannon Giddens
Tony Joe White
Max Jury
The Record Company
The Mountain Goats
The California Honeydrops
Trevor Hall

Third announcement:

The Doobie Brothers

Second announcement:

Mary J. Blige
Corinne Bailey Rae
Michael Kiwanuka
Nahko And Medicine For The People
The Suffers

First announcement:

Zac Brown Band
Patti Smith and Her Band perform Horses
The Lumineers
Buddy Guy (only Aus show)
Bonnie Raitt
Mavis Staples (only Aus show)
Billy Bragg
Jethro Tull
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
Gregory Porter
Snarky Puppy
St. Paul & The Broken Bones
Beth Hart (only Aus show)
Laura Mvula
Roy Ayers
Booker T Presents The Stax Records Revue
Andrew Bird
Rickie Lee Jones
Joan Osborne
Turin Brakes
The Strumbellas
Jake Shimabukuro
Nikki Hill
Irish Mythen

Header image by Rick Clifford