Beck unveils ghostly new single ‘Blue Moon’

Beck has unveiled new single ‘Blue Moon’ and the artwork from his forthcoming record Morning Phase.

Set for release on February 24, the album is his first since 2008’s Modern Guilt and has been described as a “companion piece” to 2002’s breakup opus Seachange. Speaking about the record with Rolling Stone recently the singer said, “There’s this feeling of tumult and uncertainty, getting through that long, dark night of the soul – whatever you want to call it. These songs were about coming out of that – how things do get better.”

The acoustic ‘Blue Moon’ is certainly imbued with the same feeling of isolation and melancholy that defined Seachange, while ghostly harmonies and sweet, backing “ooohs” nod their head to Brian Wilson’s later work. Listen to the full track below.

Beck – ‘Blue Moon’

Morning Phase tracklist


Heart Is A Drum

Say Goodbye

Waking Light



Don’t Let It Go

Blackbird Chain

Evil Things

Blue Moon

Turn Away

Country Down