Here are the 9 albums shortlisted for the Australian Music Prize

The nine albums shortlisted for the annual Australian Music Prize have been announced.

Big Scary, The Avalanches, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, and Camp Cope are among those in the running for the prestigious award, which comes with a cool $30,000 in prize money.

Impressively, there are four debut albums in the running this year. Apart from Camp Cope’s self-titled album, there are releases from A.B. Original, Olympia, and J Award winner D.D. Dumbo. 

A 16-person judging panel had the unenviable task of choosing the shortlist, cutting it down from the whopping 61 entry longlist.

The winner will be announced on March 12. They’ll join the likes of Courtney Barnett, The Jezabels, Hermitude, and The Drones as previous winners of the AMP. Scope the full shortlist below.

12th annual AMP shortlist

A.B. Original – Reclaim Australia
The Avalanches – Wildflower
Big Scary – Animal
Camp Cope – Camp Cope
D.D Dumbo – Utopia Defeated
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Nonagon Infinity
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree
Olympia – Self Talk
The Peep Tempel – Joy

Something to say?