8 new songs you need to hear: Foals, Wavves, Laura Marling, Run the Jewels, Lamb of God

Foals – ‘Mountain At My Gates’

Foals frontman Yannis Philippakis has spooked a few fans by revealing that there are hip-hop and grime influences on the band’s upcoming fourth album What Went Down. But ‘Mountain At My Gates’, the album’s second track, doesn’t head down that path. Instead it’s a textbook slice of Foals indie funk that builds to the wild climax that’s sure to get pulses racing. What Went Down is out on August 28.

Wavves – ‘Way Too Much’

Just a few weeks on from the release of No Life For Me, their collaboration with fellow garage pop heroes Cloud Nothings, Wavves have dropped a new single on the world. ‘Way Too Much’ is the first taste of the band’s new album V, which as that Roman numeral suggests, their fifth album. The album’s due out on October 2.

Laura Marling – ‘I Feel Your Love’ (Director’s Cut version)

Laura Marling released her fifth album Short Movie in March and has now decided to reissue the record to annoy fans who have already bought it add a few extra songs to the tracklist. The new version of the album comes with full-band “Director’s Cut” versions of ‘Warrior’ and ‘I Feel Your Love’ plus two b-sides ‘David’ and ‘Daisy’.


Lamb of God ft. Chino Moreno – ‘Embers’

Lamb of God have enlisted help from Deftones frontman Chino Moreno on this cut from their new album VII: Sturm and Drang. “I wrote all of Chino’s lyrics and they deal with how loss affects interpersonal relationships, like in a family dynamic,” Lamb of God frontman Randy Blythe told Rolling Stone. “He crushed it. He’s Chino. There’s no one that sounds like him.” The album will be released on July 24 and also features a cameo from Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato

Run the Jewels ft Boots – ‘Meowrly’

Meow the Jewels is without doubt one of the craziest remix albums to ever be dreamed up let alone actually recorded. The album is set to feature remixes from Portishead’s Geoff Barrow, Katalyst, Baauer, The Alchemist, Just Blaze, Zola Jesus, Dan The Automator and this version of ‘Early’ – re-titled ‘Meowrly’ – reworked by Boots.


Trouble Knows Me – ‘Trouble Knows Me’

When he’s not fronting Future Islands and showing off his inspirational dancefloor moves, Sam Herring has been known to drop rhymes under the name Hemlock Ernst. Now he and hip-hop producer Madlib have teamed up to form Trouble Knows Me. Their self titled 12” will drop in September and feature six tracks including this self-titled jam.

Bullet For My Valentine – ‘Army of Noise’

Soundwave festival boss AJ Maddah says Bullet For My Valentine’s fifth album Venom is “IMMENSE and their best yet.” You’ll have to wait until August 14 when the album is released to see if you agree with Maddah’s review, but you can get a taste of the album by hitting play on the punishing track ‘Army of Noise’ below. “It wasn’t easy revisiting some very dark places to come up with lyrical content for this one,” says frontman Matt Tuck. “It’s easily the most aggressive record we’ve ever done and lyrically it will no doubt touch a nerve with a lot of people that listen to it.”


Yuck – ‘Hold Me Closer’

Yuck’s self titled debut sounded like a killer album of ‘90s indie rock that just happened to have been released in 2011. Their 2013 followup saw the band trying to regroup after their frontman Daniel Blumberg left to peruse a solo career, but new the fuzzy single ‘Hold Me Closer’ suggests that album number three is set to be your favourite ‘90s album of 2015.