10 songs you need to hear: Death Cab for Cutie, The Prodigy, Drenge, Ghostface Killah and DOOM

New stuff from Death Cab for Cutie and The Prodigy, an all-star hip-hop collaboration, a new band for Wolf Parade’s Dan Boeckner, the return of the original garage rock icons The Sonics and more.

Death Cab For Cutie – ‘Black Sun’

Death Cab for Cutie will return with their eighth album Kintsugi in March.The title comes from the Japanese art of fixing broken pottery with a lacquer mixed with powdered gold, silver, or platinum. Which is a fitting name for the record as it’ll be the first from the band since the departure of founding member/producer/multi-instrumentalist Chris Walla. “It’s making the repair of an object a visual part of its history. That resonated with us as a philosophy, and it connected to a lot of what we were going through, both professionally and personally,” bassist Nick Harmer explained in an interview with Rolling Stone . ‘Black Sun’ is the album’s lead single.

The Prodigy – ‘The Day Is My Enemy’

The second single and title track from The Prodigy’s new record The Day Is My Enemy comes with a simple mantra: “the day is my enemy, the night my friend” and a whole lot of punishing beats. The album is the first from the 2015 Future Music Festival headliners since 2009’s Invaders Must Die.

Operators – ‘Ecstasy In My House’

While his Divine Fits bandmate Britt Daniel focuses on his day job fronting Spoon, Dan Boeckner has started another new band, Operators. The former Wolf Parade member has joined in the new group with Divine Fits drummer Sam Brown and “enigmatic Macedonian electronics whiz” Devojka. Operators have followed their EP1 release with a new single ‘Ecstasy In My House’ and are expected to release a full album this year.

BADBADNOTGOOD and Ghostface Killah ft. DOOM – ‘Ray Gun’

BADBADNOTGOOD collaborating with Ghostface Killah for the Sour Soul album is already pretty exciting but when you add DOOM to the mix things go next level. The dream team can be heard on ‘Ray Gun’ which is accompanied by a video featuring Odd Future’s Left Brain as a strip club-crashing superhero called The Mask. So many good things, we are not worthy. The full __Sour Soul __ record is set to drop on February 17.

Drenge – ‘We Can Do What We Want’

‘We Can Do What We Want’ is the lead single from Drenge’s second album, _Undertow. The Sheffield duo of Eoin Loveless and his younger brother Rory are joined third member Rob Graham on bass for the new record which was was produced by Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys M.I.A, Jarvis Cocker). Undertow is due for release in April.

Mountain Goats – ‘The Legend Of Chavo Guerrero’

Last year Mountain Goats frontman John Darnielle kept busy by publishing his debut novel Wolf In White Van and picking up a nomination for a National Book Award. This year Darnielle and his band will be releasing a concept album of songs about wrestling called Beat The Champ. “I wrote these songs to re-immerse myself in the blood and fire of the visions that spoke to me as a child, and to see what more there might be in them now that I’m grown,” Darnielle says. The first taste of the album is an ode to Mexican-American wrestler and former WWE Cruiserweight Champion Chavo Guerrero Sr.

Tuxedo (Mayer Hawthorne and Jake One) – ‘Number One’

Vintage soul aficionado Mayer Hawthorne and producer Jake One (Drake, Chance the Rapper, Snoop Dogg) have teamed up as Tuxedo and will release a self-titled record in March through Stones Throw Records. Single ‘Number One’ was inspired by Snoop’s Dogg’s early ‘90s classic ‘Aint No Fun (If the Homies Can’t Have None)’ “We always wondered what the original sample was for ‘Ain’t No Fun.’ Since we couldn’t figure it out, we decided we would make it,” the pair explain.

Kate Pierson – ‘Bottoms Up’

The B-52s’ Kate Pierson has taken a long time to get around to releasing a solo album but with the help of Sia and The Strokes’ Nick Valensi she’s finally recorded her debut Guitars and Microphones. ‘Bottoms Up’ was co-written by Sia and Valensi but it’s no ‘Rock Lobster’.

Gang of Four feat. Alison Mosshart – ‘England’s In My Bones’

Singer-guitarist Andy Gill may be the only original member left in Gang of Four but that’s not going to stop the release of an eighth album from the post-punk icons next month. What Happens Next will feature guest vocals from The Big Pink’s Robbie Furze, German singer/actor Herbert Grí¶nemeyer, and Alison Mosshart of The Kills and The Dead Weather. Mosshart appears on the lead single ‘Broken Talk’ and ‘England’s In My Bones’, which you can stream below.

The Sonics – Bad Betty

50 year on from the release of their debut album, garage rock legends The Sonics are set to release a new album in 2015. This Is the Sonics will be the first studio album from the band since 1967 and features original members Jerry Roslie, Larry Parypa, and Rob Lind plus Freddie Dennis (The Kingsmen/Liverpool Five) and Dusty Watson (Dick Dale/Agent Orange). The Dirtbombs’ Jim Diamond handled the production.